Volunteer State Book Award


TASL Co-chair: Scot Smith ssmith40@utk.edu
TLA Co-chairs: Jeanine Akers jakers@stmarysschool.org
                        Amy Dye-Reeves amydyereeves@gmail.com

Primary Committee Chair: Pat Shaffer, Nashville Public Library
Intermediate Chair:
Jamie Bevins jbevins.tasl@gmail.com
Young Adult Chair:
Lee Hope, Chattanooga-Hamilton County Public Library: hope_l@lib.chattanooga.gov

The Volunteer State Book Award is sponsored annually by the Tennessee Library Association and the Tennessee Association of School Librarians. Each year, children across Tennessee are asked to read books from a list of nominated titles.  The Volunteer State Book Award has four divisions--Primary (K-2nd Grade), Intermediate (Grades 3rd-5th), Middle School (Grades 6-8), and high school (grades 9-12).  In the spring, those students who have read or listened to at least three of the titles from the list are eligible to vote for their favorite titles. These votes are tabulated and sent to the state organization. The book with the most votes statewide wins the award. The author of the book receives a plaque and is invited to Tennessee to receive the award.



VSBA Update

The three nominating committees for the Volunteer State book Award are working hard as they prepare the 2016-2017 lists. The committees will meet in the spring to finalize their lists. Special thanks goes to Pat Shaffer (Primary) of Nashville Public Library, Jamie Bevins (Intermediate) of Hamblen County Schools, and Lee Hope (Young Adult) of Chattanooga Public Library for their leadership of these committees.

Ballots for the Volunteer State Book Award are due on May 1. For the first time, you will be able to submit your votes directly online. If you wish, you can still mail or email your ballots as we have done in the past. If you have any questions about voting, please contact Jeanine Akers or Amy Dye-Reeves. Their contact information is on the VSBA page at http://www.tasltn.org/vsba.

Finally, if you are interested in serving on one of the nominating committees, please contact me at ssmith40@utk.edu. We usually have several openings on the various committees.

Happy Reading
Scot Smith
Volunteer State Book Award Co-Chair

And the winners are. . .

The Volunteer State Book Award committee is proud to announce the results of the ballots submitted for the 2013-2014 year. 

Primary Division Winner:
The Astonishing Secret of Awesome Man
 by Michael Chabon. Balzer + Bray, 2011. 

Intermediate Division Winner:
Pie. by Sarah Weeks. Scholastic Press, 2011.

Middle School Division Winner:
Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys. Philomel, 2011.

High School Division Winner:
Divergent by Veronica Roth. Tegan Books, 2011.


2014-2015 Volunteer State Book Award Nominee List

2015-2016 Volunteer State Book Award Nominee List


VSBA Ballotts 2015

Due by May 1

New this year! Online Submission

Primary: https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/vsba2014pk-2
Intermediate: https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/vsba20143-5
Middle School: https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/vsba20146-8
High School: https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/vsba20149-12

Traditional Submission Ballots



Middle School:

High School:

VSBA PowerPoints in PDF format:





VSBA PowerPoints in PPT format:






The Volunteer State Book Award nominees can be found at goodreads.com. After you register, search for Volunteer State Book Awards. You can rate and comment on the books, participate in discussions, and connect with other readers.

Other links: