Distinguished School Administrator Award

TASL has established an ongoing recognition program for supervisors, principals, and superintendents who have shown support for school library media programs in Tennessee. An administrator may be nominated for a particular activity or event or for overall support of the school library program. Nominations may be made by anyone aware of the activity/support including school librarians, teachers, administrators, parents, students, or the administrator him/herself. If there is an outstanding person among those chosen to receive recognition, this person may be designated by the Awards Committee as a Valedictorian of the Distinguished Administrators’ Honor Roll.


All awards have an application deadline of August 20.
Winners will be honored during the 2024 TASL Conference during the opening session.


Distinguished School Administrators Honor Roll

  • 2023: Dr. Tiffany Green - Rose Hill School (valedictorian)Rachel Clark - Rose Hill School, Larry Ivery - Rose Hill School, Dr. Jon Minton - Elizabethton High School, Dr. Michael Pratt - Stratford STEM Magnet School, Marcie Leeman - Rutherford County Schools, Jayson Nave - Sevierville Primary School, Cindy Herrera West Middle School 

  • 2022: Meagan England, Dr. Joel Hoag, Meagan Turnbow

  • 2021: Riley Brewer, Dr. Janetta Davenport, Donna Gillum, Dr. Kyle Nix

  • 2020: Suzanne Anders

  • 2019 - Christie Amburn (valedictorian) & Angie Estes (valedictorian) 

  • 2018 - Sarah Searles (valedictorian), Terry Lynn Hursey, Dr. Leisa Justus, Randy Richards, Letoni Murry, Louise Claney, Elaine Harper, Rene' Walker, Marti Cantrell

  • 2017 - Tim Berry (valedictorian) from South-Doyle High School in Knox County Schools, Micha Landers from Richland School in Giles County Schools, Andy Lutton from Stewart County Middle School in Stewart County Schools, Dr. Jill Pittman from Overton High School in MNPS

  • 2016 - John Bartlett from Bearden High School in Knoxville, Kay Davenport from Smyrna West in Murfreesboro, Jared Foust from Crockett County High School in Alamo, Anthony Johnson from Clarksville Montgomery County Schools in Clarksville, Tanna Nicely from South Knoxville Elementary School in Knoxville

  • 2015 - Becky Coleman (valedictorian)