School Library Media Scholarships

The Tennessee Association of School Librarians (TASL), as part of its commitment to increase the ranks of individuals within the school library profession, has created the TASL School Library Media Scholarship. The purpose of this scholarship is to provide financial assistance to worthy students pursuing graduate studies leading to a Master’s degree in library science or certification in school library.

The TASL School Library Media Scholarship will be awarded to a student who is enrolled in a school media program at a Tennessee college or university that is approved to certify Library Information Specialists. A one-time grant of $1,000 each will be given to a student who has demonstrated leadership potential in working with students, teachers, and administrators.

The recipient will be selected based on the following criteria: demonstration of financial need, scholastic ability, response to essay questions regarding career goals and educational objectives, strength of references, and commitment to work in a Tennessee school library for at least one year upon completion of the graduate program.


All awards have an application deadline of September 1.
Winners will be honored during the 2023 TASL Conference during the opening session on November 5, at the Embassy Suites in Murfreesboro, TN.

Previous Winners

  • 2022: Amanda Carrico

  • 2021: Brigid Day

  • 2020: Kathleen B. Smith

  • 2019: Amanda Carrico

  • 2018: Tara Christian & Elaine M. Posanka

  • 2017 - Emily Matlock

  • 2016 - Rhonda Richards

  • 2015 - Erica Long and Jocelyn Smith