Upcoming Training Workshops

 Click here to Register for the Collierville HS Session on 11/10.

Click here to Register for the Morristown East HS Session on 11/10.

Click here to Register for the Cumberland Co HS Session on 11/17.

Click here to Register for the Lawrence County HS Session on 12/8.


Getting to Know the New Standards







New National School Library Standards were unveiled at AASL conference in Phoenix in November.  TASL wants to help you get to know the new standards and incorporate them in your practice.  Look for sessions at TASL Road Trip in June and at TASL Conference in September. 

If you need TASL help with PD related to the standards, contact [email protected]

The Standards include:

  • 3 Frameworks:
    • For Learners
    • For Librarians
    • For Libraries
  • 6 Shared Foundations
    • Inquire
    • Include
    • Collaborate
    • Curate
    • Explore
    • Engage
  • 4 Domains that reflect the roles of learners and librarians: Think, Create, Share, Grow
  • 6 Common Beliefs:
    1. The school library is a unique and essential part of a learning community.
    2.   Qualified school librarians lead effective school libraries.
    3. Learners should be prepared for college, career, and life
    4. Reading is the core of personal and academic competency.
    5. Intellectual freedom is every learner’s right.
    6. Information technologies must be appropriately integrated and equitably available.


Links to get started:


Resources for Implementing the New Library Standards

AASL Standards Portal

Archived Webinars on the Standards

Knowledge Quest (AASL Journal)

Six Action Steps Infographic

One-Pagers for Librarians

One-Pagers for Stakeholders